Home / About – Ladies

About – Ladies

There are currently 21 clubs, with 1,540 members in the Sunshine Coast District Ladies Bowling Association, from Noosa in the north to Pelican Waters in the south and hinterland clubs as far as Maleny and Mapleton.

The inaugural meeting of the SCDLBA was held on 11th September 1970 at the Mooloolaba Bowls Club with Joan Perrin as President and J. Arnold as Secretary. There were 14 clubs with a total of 493 members. The first AGM was held on 22nd November 1971 at Noosa Heads Bowls with Agnes Vickers elected as President with a membership of 561 ladies. The 2nd AGM was held at Pacific Paradise on 27th November 1972, and the third AGM was held at Buderim Bowls Club on 30th November 1973 with H. Gurney elected as President with 741 members.

In 2003/4 Bowls Queensland (formerly Queensland Ladies Bowling Association) changed the boundaries in Queensland to a lesser numbers of Districts and the Sunshine Coast and North Coast Districts were merged to become the current Sunshine Coast Ladies Bowling Association.

Membership numbers peaked in 1996/7 at 2,115 members and stayed strong throughout the 1990’s and 2000’s, but has been declining since 2008/9.

As of May  2015 we have now only 18 clubs with the closure of Mooloolah Valley in October 2014 and Noosa Heads in May 2015. In December 2014 we had 1256 members and unfortunately the numbers are not improving. The Clubs are Buderim, Caloundra, Club Kawana, Club Maroochy, Coolum Beach, Cooroy Community, Headland, Maleny, Mapleton, Mooloolaba, Nambour, Nambour Heights, Pacific Paradise, Palmwoods, Pelican Waters, Tewantin Noosa, Woombye and Yandina